Please enable JS

FAQ


Child Sponsorship FAQ

1. What is World Vision Child Sponsorship? How do sponsored children benefit from the programme?
Child Sponsorship offers a way to understand and respond to the needs of poor children around the world. The pooled contributions of child sponsors help provide children in need with access to a sustainable living environment, education opportunities, and a chance to develop their potential and pursue their dreams! In the one to one child-sponsor relationship, the lives of sponsors and sponsored children can be blessed and transformed.

To tackle the root causes of poverty requires more than a single solution. World Vision will assess the needs of identified communities and work with them to lay out an approximately 15-year Area Development Programme (ADP) that focuses on things like: health, education, water, livelihoods and child protection. Community members will be mobilised and empowered to play an active role during the development process, so that in the long-run, they will be able to sustain the progress and enjoy a better living.
2. How much of the HK$270 actually goes to my sponsored child?
Development isn't just about giving because that might encourage unhealthy dependence. The ultimate goal should be to help community achieve self-reliance. Therefore, instead of supporting a single child and his/her family, your monthly sponsorship donations will be combined with other sponsors' donations to support the overall community development, bringing sustainable and long-term improvement rather than meeting individual needs.

For example, instead of buying water for children, we work with community to build and maintain water facilities so that they can enjoy water sustainably.

Your sponsored child will benefit from the entire community development through areas including health, education, water, livelihoods and child protection.
3. What countries are covered by World Vision Child Sponsorship?
Today, World Vision Hong Kong's Child Sponsorship is supporting over 100 ADPs in more than 20 countries around the world, transforming the lives of over 200,000 sponsored children.
4. How does a child get sponsored?
With the help of community leaders and villagers, World Vision identifies the most vulnerable and needy children in the area and fully explains how Child Sponsorship works. When a child is sponsored, his/her brothers and sisters, and all the children and families of the community will also enjoy the benefits. For example, everyone can enjoy clean drinking water and medical care with a new well and a health clinic in a sponsored child's community.
5. Will a child be sponsored by more than one person?
No. World Vision will only match one sponsor with one child.
6. What is the difference between sponsored and non-sponsored children of the same community?
As a child-focused organisation, World Vision strives to ensure the well-being of children and help them flourish and experience fullness of life. Through Child Sponsorship, World Vision works with local community to lay out and implement suitable programmes for the long term benefits of all members. Therefore, every child within the same community will benefit from the Area Development Programme.

The major difference between sponsored and non-sponsored children is that in the one to one child-sponsor relationship, sponsored children feel supported, loved and valued by their sponsors. There exists a mutual life transformation. In addition, World Vision staff visit sponsored children regularly, monitoring their progress in terms of growth, health and education in order to provide appropriate help. Sponsors will also receive annual reports about their children's progress.
7. Why do the children sometimes appear well dressed in their photos?
A single photo can't fully reflect their needs. When families of sponsored children know the photos will be sent to sponsors, they will make sure their children look their best for photo-taking, even if it means borrowing clothes from neighbours or relatives. This also reflects their respect for the sponsors.
8. For how long do I sponsor a child? Can I discontinue my sponsorship?
The duration varies according to the progress of the Area Development Programme, which typically lasts for around 15 years. However, changes in a child's circumstances may also affect the duration. For instance, your sponsorship will end when your child finishes school, gets married, moves out of the community*, or when his/her family has achieved a better living. In these cases, we will give you a written notification and transfer your sponsorship to another child in need. Please contact us should you prefer other arrangements.

*Some sponsored children may leave the community temporarily for specific reasons. To avoid losing their sponsorship, World Vision's field staff will monitor their situations for six months and notify the child sponsor when their status can be confirmed. Donations received during the period will be used to support the development projects in the child's community.

Under any circumstances that you would like to discontinue your sponsorship, please contact our Donor Services Department for sponsorship termination. We will try to find another sponsor for the child as soon as possible. In this case, we hope you will become a sponsor again one day as your sponsorship is very important to sponsored children.
Connect with my child
9. As a child sponsor, what will I receive from World Vision or my sponsored child?
When you become a child sponsor, we will send you an information kit about your sponsored child, including his/her photo and basic personal details. Later, you will receive an introduction letter from your sponsored child. After a year of sponsorship, an annual progress report with your child's recent photo, growth progress, and community development updates will be sent to you. In addition, you will get a Child Sponsorship annual report summarising the overall achievement of Child Sponsorship in the last financial year.
10. Does my sponsored child write back?
Yes. Children are delighted to hear from their sponsors and will write back. Since most children live in remote areas where postal systems are not well developed, and the translation, verification and delivery of letters are all handled by our office, it may take three to four months for your sponsored child's letter to reach your hands.
11. Are there any tips for writing letters to sponsored children?
All children love being cared for. Your correspondence to them can help them feel your love. You can ask your sponsored child about his/her hobbies, family and school life, etc. in the letters. When writing to your child, consider their environment and culture, and avoid sensitive issues like wealth, politics and religions.

Please visit here to know more about the tips for making correspondence.
12. Can I visit my sponsored child?
Yes. World Vision organises supporter tours regularly for donors to see our work and understand community needs, and for sponsors to visit their sponsored children in the country where they live. For details, please click here.

You can also visit your sponsored child by yourself. Since most sponsored children live in remote areas with limited communications, please contact our Donor Services Department at least three months before departure to allow better visit arrangements with the field office.
  • To ensure the privacy and safety of sponsors and sponsored children, all sponsors are required to sign an agreement to comply with our Visitors' Guidelines.
  • Please contact our Donor Service Officer for enquiries.
13. Can I send a parcel or cash to my sponsored child?
Your greetings and support to your sponsored child, as expressed in letters, are already the best gift of all! If you would like to send gifts to your child, small gifts such as stationery, bookmarks, and postcards are suggested. However, please do not send cash or expensive gifts, e.g. watches, electronic goods, jewellery, cash and food, because this may create jealousy and unnecessary conflicts amongst children and their friends and relatives. Also, many developing countries have import restrictions and impose high tax on these goods. (Points to note when sending gifts)

In fact, your monthly donation has already provided your child with essential necessities through the Area Development Programme.
About my donations and others
14. Are my donations eligible for tax deductions? Do I get a receipt for each donation?
Yes. World Vision Hong Kong is a tax-exempt charity of the HKSAR Government, so your donations are tax-deductible. To encourage charitable donations, the HKSAR Government exempts up to 35% of assessable income or profits on approved charitable donations.

With our official receipts, child sponsors in Macau can also enjoy tax deductions according to the tax ordinance of the Macau SAR Government.

Receipts are issued for all donations. In order to reduce administration costs and better utilise our resources, an annual receipt listing the total donations in the past fiscal year will be issued to Hong Kong and Macau child sponsors in every April and January respectively.
15. How can I donate? Which donation method can best reduce World Vision's administration costs?
You can use direct debit, credit cards, Unionpay, PPS (Payment by Phone Service), crossed cheques, our online donation service, or you can visit our office in person to make your donations.

Direct debit is the most effective donation method to help reduce our administration costs, followed by credit cards.
Child Protection
16. Can I share my sponsored child's information through social media or other channels?
We welcome all sponsors to share the joy of sponsorship and encourage more people to become child sponsors. However, please take note of the following to protect your sponsored child's safety and privacy:
  • The child must be adequately clothed in the shared photos
  • Family name, sponsorship ID and location/ address of the child should NOT be disclosed
  • Uploaded child photos should NOT be geo-tagged to the precise locations of sponsored child
  • Storage and transmission of the child's personal information using internet, mobile devices, or other electronic means should be password-protected
Start your sponsorship journey today! Sponsor Now

Please enable JS

常見問題


助養兒童常見問題

1. 甚麼是「助養兒童計劃」?「助養兒童計劃」怎樣改善助養孩子的生活?
「助養兒童計劃」集合所有愛心助養者的力量,一起關懷世界上貧困兒童的情況,讓他們能擁有適切的成長環境,有機會接受教育和升學,健康成長,進而發展自我,向理想邁進。在助養過程中,助養者與孩子會建立一對一的關係,生命彼此祝福和得著轉化。

貧窮問題根源複雜,不是單一方案可以解決。宣明會走進孩子所在的社區,了解村民的困難和獨特需要,透過「區域發展項目」(ADP),一同制訂適切的發展計劃,以約15年的時間,在社區內進行健康、教育、水資源、生計發展和兒童保護等範疇的工作,讓村民參與和逐步建立能力解決問題,令孩子及其家庭和社區的生活環境得到長遠改善,持續發展。
2. 每月HK$270 的助養捐款中,有多少會直接給予我的助養孩子?
單純給予只會造成依賴。協助社區自立,才是發展工作的最終目標。所以助養者的捐款不只惠及一個孩子或他的家庭,而是聯同其他助養者的捐款,發展孩子身處的社區,令生活環境得到長遠改善及可持續發展,而非單單應付一個孩子的需要。

例如我們不會購買食水給孩子,卻會與社區合力興建合適的水利設施,並推動村民自行維修保養,使他們以至下一代也可獲得清潔食水。

你的助養孩子會從整個社區的發展中獲益,包括健康、教育、水資源、生計發展和兒童保護等。
3. 透過「助養兒童計劃」,我可以助養哪些國家的兒童?
香港世界宣明會善用助養者的捐款,在全球20多個國家以「助養兒童計劃」支持逾100個區域發展項目,為超過20萬名助養孩子帶來生命轉化的機會。
4. 哪些兒童會獲登記成為助養兒童?
宣明會在社區領袖及村民的協助下,安排區內最有需要的兒童接受助養,並會闡述助養計劃的運作。當孩子接受助養,他的兄弟姊妹、區內其他孩子及家庭亦能受惠其中。例如當區內興建了水井及診所時,每個居民都可以飲用清潔食水及享用醫療保健服務。
5. 一名兒童是否會被多個助養者助養?
不會,每名助養兒童在同一時間只會安排予一名助養者。
6. 在同一社區內,助養孩子與非助養孩子有何分別?
宣明會看重每名兒童的福祉,故致力協助社區裏每名兒童都能茁壯成長。「助養兒童計劃」透過與村民一同制訂及推行適切社區的發展計劃,令孩子及其家庭和社區的生活環境得到長遠改善,持續發展。故此,在同一社區內,助養與非助養兒童都一同受惠於社區的發展。

助養孩子與非助養孩子的重要分別,就是助養孩子在與助養者建立一對一的關係時,得到支持和鼓勵,感受愛和被重視,照亮彼此的生命。而且宣明會的工作人員會定期探訪助養孩子,監察他們的成長、身體及教育狀況,以提供適切的幫助,同時助養者從周年進度報告得知孩子的情況。
7. 為甚麼相片中的助養孩子有時看來衣著光鮮?
助養孩子的相片未必反映他們的真正需要,因為當助養孩子的家人知道相片是寄給遠方的助養者,便會穿上家中、甚至借來最好看的衣服給孩子拍照,以展露孩子最美麗的一面,這亦反映他們對助養者的重視。
8. 助養一名孩子的年期需要多久?我可否終止助養?
助養多久要視乎項目發展的進度,一般為期約15年,但亦會視乎孩子的個別因素,例如當孩子完成學業、結婚、搬離項目地區*或家庭經濟好轉等情況時,助養便會終止。我們會以書面通知你,同時為你安排接續助養另一位有需要的孩子。如希望另作安排,請與我們聯絡。

*有些助養孩子因個別原因暫離社區,例如隨父母出外謀生,但大多於短期內返回。為免孩子失去助養機會,當地宣明會工作人員一般會觀察六個月,確定孩子的去向後,才正式通知助養者。期間的捐款,仍會投放於孩子所屬的「區域發展項目」。

倘若日後助養者未能繼續助養,可聯絡捐助服務部辦理終止助養手續。我們也會盡量為孩子安排另一位助養者。助養者的支持對助養孩子是非常重要的,若情況許可,期待你有一天能再一次成為助養者。
與助養孩子溝通
9. 成為助養者後,我會從宣明會或助養孩子收到甚麼?
當你登記成為助養者,我們會寄上孩子的資料冊,其後你會收到孩子的自我介紹信;而助養滿一年後,你會收到周年進度報告,當中包括孩子的近照、基本成長狀況及其社區發展情況。此外,你亦會收到「助養兒童計劃」年度工作報告,總結上年度的整體工作成效。
10. 助養孩子會回信給我嗎?
會的。當助養孩子收到你的信件,定很欣喜和珍惜,他/她也樂意回信給你。然而,由於信件要經過本會職員翻譯及審閱,加上助養孩子大多生活在郵遞服務並不完善的偏遠地區,信件需由宣明會工作人員親自派送,故回信一般需時三至四個月才可到達你手中。
11. 寫信給助養孩子時,有甚麼要注意的地方?
孩子都渴望被人關心,你的助養孩子會很喜歡收到你的書信,更可從中感受到你對他/她的愛與關懷。你可在信件提問孩子的興趣、家庭及學校的生活情況等。寫信給助養孩子時,請考慮孩子身處的環境及文化背景,避免提及一些敏感的話題,例如財富、政治及信仰等。

請到此了解如何寫信給助養孩子
12. 我可否探望我的助養孩子?
可以的。宣明會定期舉行支持者探訪團,讓助養者到貧困國家親身視察本會工作及了解當地人民的需要。倘若你的助養孩子居於到訪地區,我們會盡量為你安排與孩子見面。探訪團之最新詳情,請留意此處
13. 我可否寄禮物或現金給助養孩子?
問候和關懷是給孩子最好的禮物,鼓勵你多寫信給孩子。如你仍希望寄送禮物給孩子,你可以寄一些輕巧實用的禮物,如文具、書簽、明信片等,但為避免引起助養孩子及親友互相比較或產生嫉妒,加上許多國家有入口條例限制及徵收高昂稅款,切勿郵寄手錶、電子產品、首飾、衣物、食品及現金等禮物。(送禮物注意事項)

你每月的愛心捐助,透過宣明會在當地的「區域發展項目」,已足夠令孩子得到基本的生活所需。
捐款事宜及其他
14. 我的助養捐款可否申請扣減稅項?我會否收到捐款收據?
香港世界宣明會是香港特別行政區政府認可的慈善團體,故助養者的捐款是可以用作申請扣減稅項的。為鼓勵公眾捐款予認可慈善團體,特區政府將慈善捐款的最高免稅額制定為應評稅入息或利潤的百分之三十五。

澳門的助養者亦可憑本會簽發的收據,根據澳門特別行政區政府的稅務條例申請扣減稅項。

所有捐款宣明會均會發收據。為減省處理收據的行政費用,使本會能更有效運用資源,宣明會分別於每年四月及一月底向香港及澳門助養者寄發「全年捐款收據」,總結助養者於上一個財政年度的捐款總額,以便申請扣減稅項。
15. 我可以選擇哪幾種捐款方法?哪種捐款方法可節省宣明會的行政費?
你可選擇透過銀行戶口自動轉賬、信用卡、銀聯卡、繳費靈、劃線支票、銀行網上繳費或親臨本會辦事處以現金/易辦事辦理捐款。其中以選用銀行戶口自動轉賬為最有效減省本會行政費的方法,其次是信用卡轉賬。
保護孩子
16. 為保障孩子的私隱及安全,我可否於網上社交媒體或其他途徑分享孩子的資料?
我們歡迎助養者與親友分享助養的樂趣,推動更多人成為助養者。但基於保障孩子的私隱和安全,助養者於分享資料時請注意下列事項:
  • 上載的照片必須端莊合宜,例如孩子不應衣不蔽體
  • 不可提及兒童的姓氏、編號及地址
  • 上載的照片不可標籤兒童所在的地理位置(geo-tagged),但可以標籤「區域發展項目」辦事處的位置
  • 以電子、網絡或流動裝置儲存或傳送兒童的資料時,必須加設密碼保護
助養 童享生命改變 立即助養